Skip to main content Skip to navigation
The Gene and Linda Voiland School of Chemical Engineering and Bioengineering

Faculty & Staff

Kirk Schulz

Kirk Schulz

Kirk Schulz, Ph.D.
Professor, President of Washington State University

Catalysis, surface science, materials science

President’s website:


Office of the President
French Administration Bldg., Rm. 422
P.O. Box 641048
Washington State University
Pullman, WA 99164-1048


  • Ph.D., Chemical Engineering, 1991 – Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, VA
  • B.S., Chemical Engineering, 1986 – Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, VA
  • 1981–1984, Old Dominion University, Norfolk, VA

Professional Experience

  • President and Professor of Chemical Engineering, Washington State University, 2016–Pres.
  • President and Professor of Chemical Engineering, Kansas State University, 2009–2016.
  • Vice President for Research and Economic Development, Mississippi State University, 2007–2009
    (Interim 1/07–5/07).
  • Dean of Engineering and holder of Earnest W. and Mary Ann Deavenport, Jr. Endowed Chair, James Worth Bagley College of Engineering, Mississippi State University, 2005–2007.
  • Director (Department Head), Professor of Chemical Engineering and holder of Earnest W. Deavenport Jr. Endowed Chair, Dave C. Swalm School of Chemical Engineering, Mississippi State University, 2001–2004.
  • Department Chair and Associate Professor, Chemical Engineering Department, Michigan Technological University, 1998–2001.
  • Assistant Professor of Chemical Engineering, Michigan Technological University, 1995–1998.
  • Director, Ph.D. Program in Energy Engineering, University of North Dakota (UND), 1994–1995.
  • Assistant Professor of Chemical Engineering, University of North Dakota, 1991–1995.
  • Graduate Research Assistant, Virginia Tech, 1986–1991.
  • Instructor of Chemical Engineering, Virginia Tech, Summer 1986, 1987.

Research Interests

  • Catalysis, Surface Science, Materials Science

Honors Received:

  • Distinguished Eagle Scout, 2013
  • Distinguished Trooper Award, 1st Infantry Division, Ft. Riley, KS.
  • Chief Executive Leadership Award from the Council for the Advancement and Support of Education (CASE), 2012
  • Virginia Tech Graduate Alumni Achievement Award, 2011
  • Member, Phi Kappa Phi, Kansas State University, 2011
  • Honorary Member, Golden Key International Honour Society, Kansas State, 2010
  • Fellow, American Society for Engineering Education (ASEE), 2008.
  • Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), 2007
  • Eminent Engineer, Tau Beta Pi Honorary Engineering Society, Mississippi Alpha, 2005
  • Omega Chi Epsilon Honorary Chemical Engineering Society, Alpha Eta Chapter, 2002.
  • “Outstanding Professor in Chemical Engineering”, Mississippi State University, 2002
  • Virginia Tech Outstanding Young Alumnus Award, 2000-2001
  • ASEE Outstanding Teaching Award, North Midwest Section, 1999
  • MTU Academy of Teaching Excellence Inductee, 1998
  • Raymond W. Fahien Award, Chemical Engineering Division, ASEE, 1997
  • MTU University Distinguished Teaching Award Finalist, 1996, 1997, 1998
  • NSF CAREER Development Award, 1995-1999
  • Dow-ASEE Outstanding Young Faculty Award, 1995-96
  • Sigma Xi, 1994
  • Outstanding Professor of the Year, UND School of Engineering and Mines, 1992-93
  • Dow Graduate Ph.D. Fellowship for Excellence in Teaching, 1987-1991
  • Tennessee-Eastman Graduate Fellowship, 1986-1987
  • Outstanding Graduate Teaching Assistant Award, 1986
  • Omicron Delta Kappa National Leadership Circle, 1984
  • Eagle Scout, 1977

Membership in Professional Organizations

  • American Institute for Chemical Engineers
  • American Society for Engineering Education
  • American Association for the Advancement of Science