Skip to main content Skip to navigation
The Gene and Linda Voiland School of Chemical Engineering and Bioengineering

Yong Wang receives national American Chemical Society award

August 17, 2020

Yong Wang
Yong Wang
Yong Wang, Voiland Distinguished Professor in WSU’s Gene and Linda Voiland School of Chemical Engineering and Bioengineering, is the recipient of the 2021 American Chemical Society’s (ACS) E.V. Murphree Award in Industrial and Engineering Chemistry sponsored by ExxonMobil Research & Engineering Company.

The annual award is given for outstanding theoretical or experimental research in industrial chemistry or chemical engineering. Wang will receive the award during the 2021 ACS annual spring national meeting in San Antonio, and a special symposium will be held in honor of Wang’s award as a part of the Catalysis Science and Technology Division program.

“Having Yong receive this award is a testament to the significant contributions that he has made in the areas of catalysis and chemical conversion technology,” said Mary Rezac, dean of the Voiland College of Engineering and Architecture. “I am so pleased to see him recognized with this important award and congratulate him on this outstanding achievement.”

A WSU alumnus who joined WSU in 2009, Wang is known for his work in developing novel catalytic materials and for research in fossil and biomass feedstocks conversion to fuels and other chemicals. He holds a joint appointment with the U.S. Department of Energy’s Pacific Northwest National Laboratory where he is a Laboratory Fellow and associate director of the Institute for Integrated Catalysis.

Wang has published 330 articles in peer-reviewed journals, including in Science, Nature family journals, Agewandt Chemie, and the Journal of the American Chemical Society with more than 26,000 citations and an H index of 75. He holds 290 issued patents, including 108 issued U.S. patents, and has won numerous awards including the 2019 American Institute of Chemical Engineers’ Catalysis and Reaction Engineering Practice Award and the 2018 ACS I&EC Division Fellow Award.

He is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the American Chemical Society, American Institute of Chemical Engineers, Royal Society of Chemistry, National Academy of Inventors and a member of the Washington State Academy of Sciences. Wang holds a M.S. and Ph.D. in chemical engineering from WSU.

Previous Winners

2020 Enrique Iglesia
2019 Hariklia “Lili” Deligianni
2018 Linda J. Broadbelt
2017 Eleftherios Terry Papoutsakis
2016 Michael Thackeray
2015 Joseph R. Zoeller
2014 Joan F. Brennecke
2013 Esther S. Takeuchi
2012 Michael F. Doherty
2011 Norman N. Li
2010 Gregory N. Stephanopoulos
2009 Milorad (Mike) P. Dudukovic
2008 Georges Belfort
2007 Wolfgang F. Holderich
2006 Liang-Shih Fan
2005 Mark E. Davis
2004 James E. Lyons
2003 Leo E. Manzer
2002 George R. Lester
2001 John N. Armor
2000 J. Larry Duda
1999 Donald R. Paul
1998 Stanley I. Sandler
1997 Arthur W. Westerberg
1996 Eli Ruckenstein
1995 Charles A. Eckert
1994 Edwin N. Lightfoot
1993 James J. Carberry
1992 Clarence D. Chang
1991 Richard Alkire
1990 L. E. Scriven
1989 Warren E. Stewart
1988 Jule A. Rabo
1987 Wolfgang M. H. Sachtler
1986 John H. Sinfelt
1985 Michel Boudart
1984 Robert K. Grasselli
1983 Herman Pines
1982 Sol W. Weller
1981 G. Alex Mills
1980 Milton Orchin
1979 John M. Prausnitz
1978 Donald F. Othmer
1977 Alexis Voorhies, Jr.
1976 James F. Roth
1975 Donald L. Katz
1974 Herman S. Bloch
1973 Thomas K. Sherwood
1972 Paul B. Weisz
1971 Heinz Heinemann
1970 Peter V. Danckwerts
1969 Alex G. Oblad
1968 Melvin A. Cook
1967 Alfred Clark
1966 Richard H. Wilhelm
1965 Vladimir Haensel
1964 Bruce H. Sage
1963 Manson Benedict
1962 Eugene J. Houdry
1961 Olaf A. Hougen
1960 Neal R. Amundson
1959 Edwin R. Gilliland
1958 duBois Eastman
1957 Warren K. Lewis

Original story found here: WSU News