Skip to main content Skip to navigation
The Gene and Linda Voiland School of Chemical Engineering and Bioengineering

Faculty & Staff

Director

NameEmailResearch Focus
James Petersen
Director & Professor
jn_petersen@wsu.eduBioremediation of contaminated aqueous systems, modeling of biological processing operations and on-line optimization of biological processes

Named Professors

NameEmailResearch Focus
Haluk Beyenal
Paul Hohenschuh Distinguished Professor
beyenal@wsu.eduBiofilms
Norbert Kruse
Voiland Distinguished Professor
norbert.kruse@wsu.eduHeterogeneous catalysis: from fundamentals to industrial applications
Marc Levin
Brion Wise Professor of Energy Production
marc.levin@wsu.eduProcess/technical safety, catalysis, plant design, upstream technology
Yong Wang
Voiland Distinguished Professor
yong.wang@pnnl.gov
Development of novel catalytic materials and reaction engineering for the conversion of fossil and biomass feedstocks to fuels and chemicals

Professors

NameEmailResearch Focus
Birgitte Ahring
Professor
Bioproduct Sciences & Engineering Laboratory (BSEL)
bka@wsu.eduMicrobiology, biomass conversion to biofuels and high-value bioproducts
Su Ha
Professor / Director, O.H. Reaugh Laboratory for Oil and Gas Research
suha@wsu.eduEnergy generations from alternative fuels
Cornelius F. Ivory
Professor
cfivory@wsu.eduElectrofocusing, forensic microelectrophoresis, nanochannel separations, diagnostic microfluidic devices, microchannel sample preparation
Peter Pfromm
Professor
peter.pfromm@wsu.eduAdvancing engineering research in fundamental and applied aspects
Mary Rezac
Professor, Dean of the Voiland College of Engineering and Architecture
mary.rezac@wsu.eduMolecular-level fundamentals of new separation processes; integration of this knowledge with industrial scale processes
Kirk Schulz
Professor, President of Washington State University
PresidentsOffice@wsu.eduCatalysis, surface science, materials science
Bernard Van Wie
Professor
bvanwie@wsu.eduBiotechnology including biosensors and bioanalytical devices, cell and tissue culture, engineering education research

Associate Professors

NameEmailResearch Focus
Wen-ji Dong
Associate Professor
wdong@vetmed.wsu.eduCardiac muscle biology and mechanics, protein chemistry and engineering, fluorescence techniques, computer modeling, nanoscale biosensor design and engineering
Alla Kostyukova
Associate Professor
alla.kostyukova@wsu.eduRegulation of actin dynamics by actin-binding proteins, protein structure and protein-protein interactions, protein engineering, circular dichroism
David Lin
Associate Professor
davidlin@wsu.eduIntegrated mechanical properties of skeletal muscle and spinal reflexes
Hongfei Lin
Associate Professor
hongfei.lin@wsu.eduCatalyst synthesis and application; catalytic conversion of biomass; CO2 reduction; renewable hydrogen production; fuel cell electrocatalysis; advanced functional nanomaterials; photocatalysis
Jean-Sabin McEwen
Associate Professor
js.mcewen AT wsu.eduAtomistic modeling of catalytic processes for energy applications
Steven R. Saunders
Associate Professor
steven.r.saunders@wsu.eduNanotechnology for novel catalytic systems, sustainable solvent technologies
Anita Vasavada
Associate Professor
vasavada@wsu.eduBiomechanics and neural control of the musculoskeletal system, focusing on the human head and neck system
Xiao Zhang
Associate Professor
x.zhang@wsu.eduBiomass chemistry, biomass conversion to bioproducts and bioenergy

Assistant Professors

NameEmailResearch Focus
David Thiessen
Clinical Assistant Professor
thiessen@wsu.eduFluid mechanics of drops, bubbles, and capillary channels, applications in microgravity
Di Wu
Assistant Professor & Founding Director of Alexandra Navrotsky Institute for Experimental Thermodynamics
d.wu@wsu.eduHeterogeneous catalysis, porous materials, surface science, materials chemistry, thermodynamics, nanogeoscience and nanotechnology
Xianglong Wang
Scholarly Assistant Professor
xianglong.wang@wsu.eduComputer-Aided Detection and Diagnostics with Machine Learning

Emeritus Faculty

NameEmailResearch Focus
Denny Davis
Emeritus Professor
dennycdavis73@gmail.comEngineering education, design education and assessment, engineering entrepreneurship, engineering for K–12 education, pedagogies for innovation and professional development
Howard Davis
Emeritus Professor
davish@wsu.eduEngineering and entrepreneurship pedagogy, technology development and clinical applications of biomedical instrumentation
KNona Liddell
Emeritus Professor
liddell@wsu.eduElectrochemical kinetics and reactor design; Applications to environmental problems and materials processing
R. Mahalingam
Emeritus Professor
mahalingam@wsu.edu
Reid Miller
Emeritus Professor
millerrc@moscow.com
William J. Thomson
Emeritus Professor
privprof@yahoo.com
Richard Zollars
Emeritus Professor
rzollars@wsu.eduColloidal phenomena/interfacial phenomena, multiphase heat transfer, engineering education

Research Professors

NameEmailResearch Focus
Junming Sun
Assistant Research Professor
junming.sun@wsu.eduBio-mass conversion, catalytic bio-oil upgrading, hydrogen and fuel production by ethanol steam reforming, nano-catalysis, and synthesis of nano-metal/metal oxide
Dmitri Tolkatchev
Assistant Research Professor
dmitri.tolkatchev@wsu.eduProtein chemistry and structure, protein-protein and protein-ligand interactions; protein engineering; protein NMR
Oscar Marin-Flores
Assistant Research Professor
omarinflores@wsu.eduBiomass conversion, hydrogen production for fuel cells applications via reforming of liquid fuels, direct solid oxide fuel cells, mathematical modeling of fuel cell systems, photocatalytic/electrochemical processes for CO2 mitigation

Adjunct Faculty

NameEmailResearch Focus
Murali Chandramurali@vetmed.wsu.eduUnderstanding the molecular mechanisms responsible for regulation of the contractile machinery of heart muscle cells, and how myofilament remodeling is linked to pathogenesis of heart diseases
Zdenek Dohnalekzdenek.dohnalek@wsu.eduExperimental studies of fundamental model systems that are necessary to understand complex processes that take place in heterogeneous catalysis and environment
Manuel Garcia-Perez
mgarcia-perez@wsu.eduBiomass thermochemical conversion (torrefaction, pyrolysis, gasification and combustion); development and testing of new bio-oil refineries to produce advanced bio-fuels and bio-chemicals; environmental impact of thermochemical processes
David Heldebrant
david.heldebrant@pnnl.govDesign and development of switchable ionic liquids that chemically capture acid gases such as carbon dioxide and sulfur dioxide from power plant gas emissions; Amine Boranes as potential high energy density fuels for hydrogen fuel cells
Olga A. MarinaOlga.Marina@pnnl.gov
M. Grant Nortonmg_norton@wsu.eduCeramic materials, nanotechnology, and clean technology
Ryan Renslowryan.renslow@pnnl.gov
Louis Scudieroscudiero@wsu.eduModel layered bimetallic materials and core-shell and alloy nanoparticles for formic acid oxidation for portable fuel cells (DFAFCs)
Bert Tannerbertrand.tanner@wsu.eduNormal, mutated, and diseased proteins that influence muscle contraction and relaxation
Aaron Wrightaaron.wright@pnnl.govActivity-based protein profiling of microbes and microbial communities involved in biofuel production and drug metabolism

Staff

NameEmailPhoneOffice
Billy Schmuck
Laboratory Coordinator
bschmuck@wsu.edu509-335-4776107N Wegner Hall
Kate Konen
IT System Administrator
kate.konen@wsu.edu509-335-8039249 Wegner Hall
Lael Gray
Administrative Manager
l.gray@wsu.edu509-335-4731105G Wegner Hall
Nicole Leavitt
Fiscal Analyst 1
nicole.leavitt@wsu.edu509-335-3205105 Wegner Hall
Malena Braatne-Millstein
Administrative Assistant 1
m.braatne@wsu.edu509-335-3151105D Wegner Hall
Maria Greaney Curry
Academic (Undergraduate) Coordinator
mgreaney@wsu.edu509-335-1041105B Wegner Hall
Samantha Bailey
Academic (Graduate) Coordinator
samantha.bailey@wsu.edu509-335-4001105E Wegner Hall
Tucson Smith
Fiscal Analyst 3
smitht@wsu.edu509-335-3811105H Wegner Hall

Postdoctoral Research Associates

NameEmailResearch Focus
Abdul Mohameda.mohamed@wsu.edu
Benjamin (Jamie) Keebenjamin.kee@wsu.edu
Dezhou Gaodezhou.guo@wsu.edu
Dong Jiangdong.jiang@wsu.eduLow-temperature catalytic combustion; Single-atom catalysts (SACs), Ammonia (NH3) synthesis, Mayenite (C12A7) compounds (oxide, electride, and hydride)
Junrui Lijunrui.li@wsu.edu
Kristin Bryantkristin.bryant@wsu.edu
Shaoqu Xieshaoqu.xie@wsu.eduExtraction, thermodynamics, biomass to biofuels and chemicals, biphasic catalysis, CO2 capture and conversion
Weixin Huangweixin.huang@wsu.edu
Yixiao Liyixiao.li@wsu.eduHeterogenous catalysis and reaction engineering study for efficient glucose transformation

Visiting Scholars

NameWorking withVisiting
Wanli Zhang
Chemical Engineering, College of Chemical Engineering, State Key Laboratory of Heavy Oil Processing, China University of Petroleum-Beijing, China
Hongfei LinSeptember 1, 2018 through August 31, 2020