Skip to main content Skip to navigation
The Gene and Linda Voiland School of Chemical Engineering and Bioengineering

Faculty & Staff

Director

NameEmailResearch Focus
Su Ha
George Austin Endowed Director / Director, O.H. Reaugh Laboratory for Oil and Gas Research
suha@wsu.eduEnergy generations from alternative fuels

Regents Professors

NameEmailResearch Focus
Yong Wang
Regents Professor
Voiland Distinguished Professor
wang42@wsu.eduDevelopment of novel catalytic materials and reaction engineering for the conversion of fossil and biomass feedstocks to fuels and chemicals

Named Professors

NameEmailResearch Focus
Alla Kostyukova
Professor, The Paul Hohenschuh Distinguished Professor in Chemical Engineering
alla.kostyukova@wsu.eduRegulation of actin dynamics by actin-binding proteins, protein structure and protein-protein interactions, protein engineering, circular dichroism

Professors

NameEmailResearch Focus
Birgitte Ahring
Professor
Bioproduct Sciences & Engineering Laboratory (BSEL)
bka@wsu.eduMicrobiology, biomass conversion to biofuels and high-value bioproducts
Haluk Beyenal
Professor
Voiland College’s Associate Dean of Research and Graduate Studies
beyenal@wsu.eduElectrochemistry for human health and environment, electrochemical bandage, electrochemical signals in soil and envirochemical engineering.
Peter Pfromm
Professor
peter.pfromm@wsu.eduAdvancing engineering research in fundamental and applied aspects
Mary Rezac
Professor, Dean of the Voiland College of Engineering and Architecture
mary.rezac@wsu.eduMolecular-level fundamentals of new separation processes; integration of this knowledge with industrial scale processes
Kirk Schulz
Professor, President of Washington State University
PresidentsOffice@wsu.eduCatalysis, surface science, materials science
Bernard Van Wie
Professor
bvanwie@wsu.eduBiotechnology including biosensors and bioanalytical devices, cell and tissue culture, engineering education research
Xiao Zhang
Professor
x.zhang@wsu.eduBiomass chemistry, biomass conversion to bioproducts and bioenergy

Associate Professors

NameEmailResearch Focus
Wen-ji Dong
Associate Professor
dongwenji@wsu.eduCardiac muscle biology and mechanics, protein chemistry and engineering, fluorescence techniques, computer modeling, nanoscale biosensor design and engineering
David Lin
Associate Professor
davidlin@wsu.eduIntegrated mechanical properties of skeletal muscle and spinal reflexes
Hongfei Lin
Associate Professor
hongfei.lin@wsu.eduCatalyst synthesis and application; catalytic conversion of biomass; CO2 reduction; renewable hydrogen production; fuel cell electrocatalysis; advanced functional nanomaterials; photocatalysis
Jean-Sabin McEwen
Associate Professor
js.mcewen AT wsu.eduAtomistic modeling of catalytic processes for energy applications
Steven R. Saunders
Associate Professor & Associate Director for Administration and Undergraduate Research
steven.r.saunders@wsu.eduNanotechnology for novel catalytic systems, sustainable solvent technologies
David Thiessen
Associate Professor (Career Track)
thiessen@wsu.eduFluid mechanics of drops, bubbles, and capillary channels, applications in microgravity
Anita Vasavada
Associate Professor
vasavada@wsu.eduBiomechanics and neural control of the musculoskeletal system, focusing on the human head and neck system

Assistant Professors

NameEmailResearch Focus
Dmitri Tolkatchev
Assistant Professor (Career Track)
dmitri.tolkatchev@wsu.eduProtein chemistry and structure, protein-protein and protein-ligand interactions; protein engineering; protein NMR
Di Wu
Assistant Professor & Founding Director of Alexandra Navrotsky Institute for Experimental Thermodynamics
d.wu@wsu.eduHeterogeneous catalysis, porous materials, surface science, materials chemistry, thermodynamics, nanogeoscience and nanotechnology
Dominic Scalise
Assistant Professor
dominic.scalise@wsu.eduMolecular Programming

Emeritus Faculty

NameEmailResearch Focus
Denny Davis
Emeritus Professor
dennycdavis73@gmail.comEngineering education, design education and assessment, engineering entrepreneurship, engineering for K–12 education, pedagogies for innovation and professional development
Howard Davis
Emeritus Professor
davish@wsu.eduEngineering and entrepreneurship pedagogy, technology development and clinical applications of biomedical instrumentation
Cornelius F. Ivory
Emeritus Professor
cfivory@wsu.eduElectrofocusing, forensic microelectrophoresis, nanochannel separations, diagnostic microfluidic devices, microchannel sample preparation
Norbert Kruse
Emeritus Professor
norbert.kruse@wsu.eduHeterogeneous catalysis: from fundamentals to industrial applications
KNona Liddell
Emeritus Professor
liddell@wsu.eduElectrochemical kinetics and reactor design; Applications to environmental problems and materials processing
R. Mahalingam
Emeritus Professor
mahalingam@wsu.edu
Reid Miller
Emeritus Professor
millerrc@moscow.com
James Petersen
Emeritus Professor
jn_petersen@wsu.eduBioremediation of contaminated aqueous systems, modeling of biological processing operations and on-line optimization of biological processes
William J. Thomson
Emeritus Professor
privprof@yahoo.com
Richard Zollars
Emeritus Professor
rzollars@wsu.eduColloidal phenomena/interfacial phenomena, multiphase heat transfer, engineering education

Research Professors

NameEmailResearch Focus
Oscar Marin-Flores
Assistant Research Professor
omarinflores@wsu.eduBiomass conversion, hydrogen production for fuel cells applications via reforming of liquid fuels, direct solid oxide fuel cells, mathematical modeling of fuel cell systems, photocatalytic/electrochemical processes for CO2 mitigation

Affiliate Faculty

NameEmail
Arda Gozen arda.gozen@wsu.edu
Bert Tannerbertrand.tanner@wsu.edu
Louis Scudieroscudiero@wsu.edu
Manuel Garcia-Perez
mgarcia-perez@wsu.edu
Yuehe Linyuehe.lin@wsu.edu

Adjoint Faculty

NameEmail
David Heldebrant
david.heldebrant@pnnl.gov
Huamin WangHuamin.wang@pnnl.gov
Jerome Babautajbabauta@gamry.com
Jian Zhi Hujianzhi.hu@pnnl.gov
Karthi Ramasamykarthi@pnnl.gov
Mike Thorsonmichael.thorson@pnnl.gov
Olga A. Marinaolga.marina@pnnl.gov
Ryan Renslowryanr@totusmedicines.com
Venky Prabhakaranvenky@pnnl.gov
Zdenek Dohnalekzdenek.dohnalek@wsu.edu

Staff

NameEmailPhoneOffice
Billy Schmuck
Laboratory Coordinator
bschmuck@wsu.edu509-335-4776147 Wegner Hall
Kate Konen
IT System Administrator
kate.konen@wsu.edu509-335-8039249 Wegner Hall
Lael Gray
Administrative Manager
l.gray@wsu.edu509-335-4731105G Wegner Hall
Malena Braatne-Millstein
Administrative Assistant 1
m.braatne@wsu.edu509-335-3151107N Wegner Hall
Maria Greaney Curry
Academic (Undergraduate) Coordinator
mgreaney@wsu.edu509-335-1041105B Wegner Hall
Nicole Leavitt
Fiscal Analyst 1
nicole.leavitt@wsu.edu509-335-3205105D Wegner Hall
Samantha Bailey
Academic (Graduate) Coordinator
samantha.bailey@wsu.edu509-335-4001105E Wegner Hall
Tucson Smith
Fiscal Analyst 3
smitht@wsu.edu509-335-3811105H Wegner Hall

Postdoctoral Research Associates

NameEmailResearch Focus
Ashok Jangam
Caiqi Wang
Dezhou Gaodezhou.guo@wsu.edu
Hao Xuhao.xu1@wsu.edu
Junrui Lijunrui.li@wsu.edu
Weixin Huangweixin.huang@wsu.edu