Skip to main content Skip to navigation
The Gene and Linda Voiland School of Chemical Engineering and Bioengineering

Faculty & Staff

Director

NameEmailResearch Focus
James Petersen
Director & Professor
jn_petersen@wsu.eduBioremediation of contaminated aqueous systems, modeling of biological processing operations and on-line optimization of biological processes

Named Professors

NameEmailResearch Focus
Nehal Abu-Lail
Linda Voiland Professor
nehal@wsu.eduMultiscale cellular interactions and properties
Haluk Beyenal
Paul Hohenschuh Distinguished Professor
beyenal@wsu.eduBiofilms
Norbert Kruse
Voiland Distinguished Professor
norbert.kruse@wsu.eduHeterogeneous catalysis: from fundamentals to industrial applications
Marc Levin
Brion Wise Professor of Energy Production
marc.levin@wsu.eduProcess/technical safety, catalysis, plant design, upstream technology
Chris Sonnichsen
Bill Thomson Professor of Practice
c.sonnichsen@wsu.edu
Yong Wang
Voiland Distinguished Professor
yong.wang@pnl.gov
Development of novel catalytic materials and reaction engineering for the conversion of fossil and biomass feedstocks to fuels and chemicals

Professors

NameEmailResearch Focus
Birgitte Ahring
Professor
Bioproduct Sciences & Engineering Laboratory (BSEL)
bka@wsu.eduMicrobiology, biomass conversion to biofuels and high-value bioproducts
Cornelius F. Ivory
Professor
cfivory@wsu.eduElectrofocusing, forensic microelectrophoresis, nanochannel separations, diagnostic microfluidic devices, microchannel sample preparation
Mary Rezac
Professor, Dean of the Voiland College of Engineering and Architecture
mary.rezac@wsu.eduMolecular-level fundamentals of new separation processes; integration of this knowledge with industrial scale processes
Kirk Schulz
Professor, President of Washington State University
PresidentsOffice@wsu.eduCatalysis, surface science, materials science
Bernard Van Wie
Professor
bvanwie@wsu.edu Biotechnology including biosensors and bioanalytical devices, cell and tissue culture, engineering education research

Associate Professors

NameEmailResearch Focus
Wen-ji Dong
Associate Professor
wdong@vetmed.wsu.eduCardiac muscle biology and mechanics, protein chemistry and engineering, fluorescence techniques, computer modeling, nanoscale biosensor design and engineering
Su Ha
Associate Professor / Director, O.H. Reaugh Laboratory for Oil and Gas Research
suha@wsu.eduEnergy generations from alternative fuels
Alla Kostyukova
Associate Professor
alla.kostyukova@wsu.eduRegulation of actin dynamics by actin-binding proteins, protein structure and protein-protein interactions, protein engineering, circular dichroism
David Lin
Associate Professor
davidlin@wsu.eduIntegrated mechanical properties of skeletal muscle and spinal reflexes
Hongfei Lin
Associate Professor
hongfei.lin@wsu.eduCatalyst synthesis and application; catalytic conversion of biomass; CO2 reduction; renewable hydrogen production; fuel cell electrocatalysis; advanced functional nanomaterials; photocatalysis
Anita Vasavada
Associate Professor
vasavada@wsu.eduBiomechanics and neural control of the musculoskeletal system, focusing on the human head and neck system
Xiao Zhang
Associate Professor
xiaozhang@tricity.wsu.eduBiomass chemistry, biomass conversion to bioproducts and bioenergy

Assistant Professors

NameEmailResearch Focus
Howard Davis
Clinical Assistant Professor / Director of the Harold Frank Institute For Engineering Entrepreneurship
davish@wsu.eduEngineering and entrepreneurship pedagogy, technology development and clinical applications of biomedical instrumentation
Jean-Sabin McEwen
Assistant Professor
js.mcewen AT wsu.eduAtomistic modeling of catalytic processes for energy applications
Steven R. Saunders
Assistant Professor
steven.r.saunders@wsu.eduNanotechnology for novel catalytic systems, sustainable solvent technologies
David Thiessen
Clinical Assistant Professor
thiessen@wsu.eduFluid mechanics of crops, bubbles, and capillary channels, applications in microgravity
Di Wu
Assistant Professor
di.wu@wsu.eduHeterogeneous catalysis, porous materials, surface science, materials chemistry, thermodynamics, nanogeoscience and nanotechnology

Emeritus Faculty

NameEmailResearch Focus
Denny Davis
Emeritus Professor
davis@wsu.eduEngineering education, design education and assessment, engineering entrepreneurship, engineering for K–12 education, pedagogies for innovation and professional development
KNona Liddell
Emeritus Professor
liddell@wsu.eduElectrochemical kinetics and reactor design; Applications to environmental problems and materials processing
R. Mahalingam
Emeritus Professor
mahalingam@wsu.edu
Reid Miller
Emeritus Professor
millerrc@moscow.com
William J. Thomson
Emeritus Professor
privprof@yahoo.com
Richard Zollars
Emeritus Professor
rzollars@wsu.eduColloidal phenomena/interfacial phenomena, multiphase heat transfer, engineering education

Research Professors

NameEmailResearch Focus
Oscar Marin Flores
Assistant Research Professor
omarinflores@wsu.eduBiomass conversion, hydrogen production for fuel cells applications via reforming of liquid fuels, direct solid oxide fuel cells, mathematical modeling of fuel cell systems, photocatalytic/electrochemical processes for CO2 mitigation
Junming Sun
Assistant Research Professor & Major Professor
junming.sun@wsu.eduBio-mass conversion, catalytic bio-oil upgrading, hydrogen and fuel production by ethanol steam reforming, nano-catalysis, and synthesis of nano-metal/metal oxide
Dmitri Tolkatchev
Assistant Research Professor
dmitri.tolkatchev@wsu.edu

Adjunct Faculty

NameEmailResearch Focus
Hans C. Bernstein
Hans.Bernstein@pnnl.govGenome-enabled systems biology and synthetic biology of microbes and microbial communities
George Bonheyo
George.Bonheyo@pnnl.gov
Murali Chandramurali@vetmed.wsu.eduUnderstanding the molecular mechanisms responsible for regulation of the contractile machinery of heart muscle cells, and how myofilament remodeling is linked to pathogenesis of heart diseases
Shulin Chenchens@wsu.eduDevelopment of bioconversion processes and systems for the production of biofuel, bioenergy, and bioproducts
Zdenek Dohnalekzdenek.dohnalek@wsu.eduExperimental studies of fundamental model systems that are necessary to understand complex processes that take place in heterogeneous catalysis and environment
Jim Fredrickson
Jim.Fredrickson@pnl.govMicrobial ecology and environmental microbiology
Manuel Garcia-Perez
mgarcia-perez@wsu.eduBiomass thermochemical conversion (torrefaction, pyrolysis, gasification and combustion); development and testing of new bio-oil refineries to produce advanced bio-fuels and bio-chemicals; environmental impact of thermochemical processes
David Heldebrant
david.heldebrant@pnnl.govDesign and development of switchable ionic liquids that chemically capture acid gases such as carbon dioxide and sulfur dioxide from power plant gas emissions; Amine Boranes as potential high energy density fuels for hydrogen fuel cells
Tom Jobsontjobson@wsu.eduMeasurement of trace organic gases in the atmosphere, trace gas instrumentation, tropospheric photochemistry, biogeochemical cycling, and global climate change
Chulhee Kangchkang@wsu.eduSR calcium regulation in cardiac muscle
Brian Lambblamb@wsu.eduRegional grid modeling of photochemical air quality and windblown dust, application of atmospheric tracer techniques, biosphere/atmospheric interactions, three-dimensional turbulence modeling, and greenhouse gas emissions
Heping Liuheping.liu@wsu.eduMicrometeorology; microclimatology; boundary-layer meteorology; biosphere-atmosphere interactions and ecosystem-climate feedbacks
Olga A. MarinaOlga.Marina@pnnl.gov
M. Grant Nortonnorton@mme.wsu.eduCeramic materials, nanotechnology, and clean technology
Ryan Renslowryan.renslow@pnnl.gov
Louis Scudieroscudiero@wsu.eduModel layered bimetallic materials and core-shell and alloy nanoparticles for formic acid oxidation for portable fuel cells (DFAFCs)
Bert Tannerbtanner@wsu.eduNormal, mutated, and diseased proteins that influence muscle contraction and relaxation
Jim Whitejim.white@tricity.wsu.edu
Aaron Wrightaaron.wright@pnnl.govActivity-based protein profiling of microbes and microbial communities involved in biofuel production and drug metabolism

Staff

NameEmailPhoneOffice
Nouraldeen Alsouwd
Academic (Undergraduate) Coordinator
nalsouwd@wsu.edu509-335-3151105H Wegner Hall
Samantha Bailey
Academic (Graduate) Coordinator
samantha.bailey@wsu.edu509-335-4001105A Wegner Hall
Thomas Forbes
Secretary Senior
tom.forbes@wsu.edu509-335-1256155 Wegner Hall
Maria Greaney Curry
Academic (Undergraduate) Coordinator
mgreaney@wsu.edu509-335-1041105B Wegner Hall
Jennifer Keller
Fiscal Specialist 2
j.starks@wsu.edu509-335-3811105 Wegner Hall
Kate Konen
IT Specialist 3
kate.konen@wsu.edu509-335-8039249 Wegner Hall
Jo Ann McCabe
Administrative Manager
mccabe@wsu.edu509-335-4731105G Wegner Hall
Jim Pogue
Fiscal Specialist 2
jpogue@wsu.edu509-335-3205105D Wegner Hall
Billy Schmuck
Laboratory Coordinator

bschmuck@wsu.edu509-335-4776107N Wegner Hall

Postdoctoral Research Associates

NameEmailResearch Focus
Guodong Dingguodong.ding@wsu.eduOrganic synthesis; materials synthesis; heterogeneous catalysis; green chemical reactions
Phuc Haphuc.ha@wsu.edu
Alyssa J. R. Hensleyalyssa.rose@wsu.eduAtomistic modeling of single site Pt catalysts for selective CO oxidation and water-gas shift
Viacheslav Iablokovviacheslav.iablokov@wsu.edu
Dongmin Yundongmin.yun@wsu.edu
Renquin Zhangrenqin.zhang@wsu.eduCO Hydrogenation to Long chain Terminal Alcohols and Aldehydes
Kai Zhaokai.zhao@wsu.eduSolid oxide fuel cells; electrochemical investigation of novel cathode materials; fabrication technology of ceramic fuel cells; catalysts for fuel cells running on hydrocarbon fuels

Visiting Scholars

NamePhotoWorking withVisiting
Shuang Li
School of Chemical Engineering, Northwest University, China
Shuang LiYong WangFebruary 1, 2017 through January 30, 2018
Jung Il Yang
Principal Researcher, Clean Fuel Laboratory at Korea Institute of Energy Research
Su HaSeptember 1, 2016 through August 31, 2017
Lijuan Zhang
Associate Professor, Editorial Office of Journal of Energy Chemistry, Dalian Institute of Chemical Physics
Lijuan ZhangYong WangMay 15, 2016 through November 14, 2017